RSS Feed

Dinners #2+#3, 28-29/1/11

Posted on

I am always in search of new and FAST things to make for the weekly weekend meals.

For one particularly fun weekend we were staying by friends in Efrat (you know who you are) and by chance happen to be there early enough to participate in their cooking experience, thus adding to my collection the never-fail meatballs recipe, which I made for this weekend.

Now usually I purchase expensive imported tomato sauce for this but as I was out of it, and due to my new frugality did not want to purchase it, I improvised with regular tomato paste, some sugar and water, spices and you know what? It was so good I was craving it for breakfast the next day….

Here is the recipe, thank you Andi Leubitz:

1 kg ground meat (I use ground turkey and it’s still great)
1 Large or 2 small eggs
1/4-1/2 cup matza meal
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp paprika

mix everything together, make into balls, no bigger than 2-3 cm (1″) in diameter. if it is the size of a golf ball, it’s too big, split in half!
then on a baking sheet on your baking tray put them on, and bake, YES BAKE! for about 15-25 min until slightly brown.

Next in a pot, put in tomato sauce of your choice, or if you wish, a can and a half of tomato paste, about 3/4 cup water, basil, oregano, garlic powder and parsley, about 1 TBS of each, mix in 1/2 cup of sugar (brown preferable).

Put meatballs in pot, simmer for about an hour

Oh, and I also made some rice which I somehow managed to burn, with some healthy helping of endamame with some lemon juice/olive oil dressing.

Leave a Reply

