RSS Feed

The Lazy Cook – Shabbat Meal in an Hour

I recently realized something about myself – I am lazy. It isn’t pleasant to acknowledge this. I have to fight my tendencies on a daily basis and when I don’t fight it, well then things build up to even more work for me at the end of the road.

And when it comes to cooking I think I take the prize. Therefore, as Shabbat is rolling in I’m thinking – what if I could make really easy healthy-ish Menus for those who are just as lazy as I am when it comes to cooking?

So here’s my menu:

Dinner –

Starter: Bought salads such as: Chummus, Eggplant, Matbucha, etc.

Soup: Chicken Soup

Main:

  • Baked Grilled Chicken
  • Salad
  • Antipasti
  • Sweet Potato
  • Broccoli

Dessert: Fruit, Whole Wheat Muffins or shamefully store front goods.

Lunch –

Everything we had for dinner but the soup.

Added bonus – Cholent made by husband

Not to be overlooked and is essential to getting everything done as fast as you can – the Cooking Order:

1. Chicken Soup – Even though there is “a lot of work” for this dish I find it worth the effort since it makes for a very good leftover for weeknight meals when DH comes home starving and I have no intention of making dinner.

Chop onions, carrots, zuccini, potatoes, sweet potatoes, leek – whatever else you like. Fry a bit with olive oil. Add chicken pieces and cover with water. Bring to boil then add: Hawaij , 2 TBS soup mix, S+P, parsley. I then like to add Kube (Dough stuffed with meat). Lower heat and let cook for an hour.

20160916_135118

20160916_140653

While this is happening I make my Antipasti Stick it in the oven for about 20-30 min.

2. Antipasti – Cut up whatever veggies you love, garlic cloves, a little olive oil, salt + pepper, if you really want to be fancy you can add thyme.

20160916_135731

3. Sweet Potatoes – I love love love this dish. Especially good when you heat up next day and it gets a little burnt and glazed and it’s just delish.

Simply peel and cut sweet potatoes, a little olive oil on top and rosemary.

20160916_135659

Stick in oven on rack under Antipasti. Switch to top when Antipasti is done.

Sweet Potato takes a while to bake so now you have time to prep your Chicken and stick some Broccoli into microwave as instructed on bag for cooking time.

4. Grilled Baked Chicken Breast – Now I can’t claim to fame this recipe.

I got it from http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/baked-chicken-breast/ and it looks amazing at the end (don’t you hate it when recipes don’t live up to their pinterest pic?)

Once Sweet Potatoes are done, stick the Chicken in for about 15-20 min on high heat.

20160916_163323

OK ALMOST DONE!

5. Dessert: For the finale I make my special whole wheat muffins.

Mix: 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 Tsp Baking Soda, Cinnamon – as much as you like, 1/2 cup sugar

Then add: 1 cup water, 1/2 cup oil, 1 egg and 1/2 cup chocolate chips (more or less as you like).

mix together so all ingredients are blended but be careful not to over mix. If you see the consistency is very thick add a little more water.

Put in muffin tray, bake at 200 F for about 20 min.

And that’s it!

20160916_175659

Now it’s time for the REAL challenge to (groan) clean dishes…

Salad I usually make after candle lighting, leaving me time to write this post now….

Hope this was helpful!

If you have any recipes or menus that are fast and easy please post here to share!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

